What's new

Sudden break out...check my routine, help me pick a cream?

I've been wetshaving for about 8 months now, and have to say it's been one of the best changes in my routine I've ever made. I started having less ingrown hairs, better complexion, better shaves. I was really happy.

Then, about a month ago, I started breaking out in the shave area. This had never happened before, and I'm puzzled as to the cause. I shower, use TOBS Lavender cream with a brush, get a good lather in a bowl, and brush it on. I use a Merkur Classic, and I'm working through a blade sampler (could this be the issue?). I usually go with two passes, one N/S, and one E/W. This usually gives me zero irritation, a nice shave, and doesn't take a ton of time out of my routine. I use Nivea for sensitive skin lotion after I shave, but only about 1/2 of the time.

What's happening is this. Little sores that look like pimples, but don't "feel" like pimples. Trying to pop them just makes them worse. It's like it drives them deeper and makes them last longer. If left alone, they sometimes become weepy. And, needless to say, they're very unsightly.

So, could it be that I've developed an allergy to my cream? Need to do something else? I'm ready to buy a new cream, and was leaning towards Truefitt's Trafalgar, because I love the scent. But, I don't want to get something that's just going to make the situation worse. So, help me out, oh Swamis of the Shave---what should I do? I'm actually going to the dermatologist tomorrow because I'm so fed up with this, but would appreciate any advice that you can give.

Are you sure they're not ingrown hairs?

You might also be breaking out from not rinsing your face enough with warm/hot water, then cool water.

Just a thought.

==Tom

Which blade are you currently using?

Did the pimples(road rash) start with a specific blade?

What is the order of blades you are working through the pack with?

Marty