What's new

Strop Conditioning and Paste Questions

I have a Dovo straight razor and Fromm Illinois strop on order. I have started using a shavette and like it enough to take the next steps. Have two separate questions on: conditioning and using a paste. I am a newb at this, so please keep it basic for me.

Conditioning: What do I use?
  • I do use a strop for knives (and yes, I understand that this is different from the knife world :smile1:). It is an inexpensive one and I pretty much condition it with whatever.
  • I have used:
    1. the natural oils from my skin (per the strop manufacturer)
    2. glove oil
    3. mineral oil (which I use to oil and lubricate knives.)
    4. I also have Neatsfoot oil on hand.
  • My understanding is that I need to keep the oil off of the linen/canvas strop. Any conditioning need for the linen?
Pastes and Abrasives:​
  • Should I use a paste or abrasive compound? [I do not use any when stropping my knives, although a lot (most?) people do.]
  • If I should use a paste, what should I use?
  • Should I use it on the linen strop also.
Thanks for the help!​

I don't use anything to condition my hanging strop other than skin oils.

It's not necessary but I think it's better to get a paddle strop to use for paste (chromium oxide). You can get an inexpensive one for less than $10 and you can get a "crayon" of chromium oxide for about $6.

I think it's better to just keep the pastes away from your main hanging strop (although not everyone does it this way).