What's new

Straight Razor - Problem if you are left handed?

I have been shaving with a double-edge razor for several years now and have been enjoying it very much. Was considering trying out the straight razor; however, I am left handed. Will this be a problem in a right-handed world. Are straight razors desinged to be used with either hand?

Straights are designed to be used with either hand and to shave properly you will need to use both hands.

Its actually usually easier for lefties as they're much better with their right hand than righties are with their left.

Straight razors design predates the advent of making things for left or right handed people. The only straights that I know of that might be made for one hand over the other would be the Japanese straights. Are you getting one of these? If not you will be fine. By the way, most guys who use a straight use both hands to shave. You have to switch hands to shave each side of your face. Try this kind of razor

http://cgi.ebay.com/STRAIGHT-Cut-Th...QQihZ004QQcategoryZ106315QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

Or this one,

http://cgi.ebay.com/OPEN-STRAIGHT-R...4QQihZ009QQcategoryZ33933QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

Mason

I'm a lefty....I love my straight and really didn't have much trouble in learning to use my right hand as well...
So Suzuki might be right.

I'm a lefty....I love my straight and really didn't have much trouble in learning to use my right hand as well...
So Suzuki might be right.

I'm left-handed as well - my understanding is that, for many lefties, their "handedness" isn't as pronounced/dominant as it is for many righties.

Also, lefties continually have to adapt and learn to use their right hand to adjust to the fact that most products are designed with the right-handed in mind (gear shifts in most countries, scissors, can openers, etc.).

Another lefty here. I agree with what has been stated so far. Just go slow with your off hand (well, go slow always). After a few shaves, it will start to feel normal.