What's new

Shamejedi's Hall of Fame Entry

-------------------------------------------------------------------

Username:
Shamejedi

What is your real name?
Richard

What are your nicknames/aliases?
Rich. To answer the question I've been asked since first grade: No, you may not call me "Dick" unless you wish to be party to an affair of honor. :wink2:

Where do you live?
Alexandria, VA

What is your age (or) generation?
Coming up fast on 35.

What are you in the real world?
All in all, I'm just another brick in the wall.

What is your favorite shave setup?
As a noob, I've got limited gear: just five weeks ago I bought a Silvertip brush with an olivewood handle from Parker Safety Razor (via Amazon.com) and ditched my old Mach 3 for a long-handled Merkur 38HD "Barber Pole". So far, I've achieved the best results with Derby Extras. (But if one or more of you sagacious, generous gentlemen of the forum would like to help a poor, unguided wetshaving wayfarer find the right path by swapping some of your interesting blades for part of my large stock of Derby, I would be ever so appreciative and I just know your Karmic rewards would be great. :ihih:)

I love Proraso so far--the whole shebang from pre-shave to tube cream to aftershave lotion. The stuff feels great, and has even gotten me BBS for the first time in my life. Ogallala Bay Rum products are catching up fast, though. I've been hooked on Bay Rum, Limes, and Peppercorns as my AS of choice this week, and have been really enjoying the feel of their shaving soap. I think it's eliminated all traces of acne in my shaving area (although, it doesn't seem to let me shave as closely as the Proraso unless I add a second XTG pass and buff a little). I've been sticking with the same blades as I try out new soaps and creams, to keep it scientific.

I also use an alum block. I am happy to say that it no longer gives me the same intense feedback it did for the first four or five of my DE shaves.