What's new

Sensitive Skin Razor

What are your thoughts about a good razor and blade combo for sensitive skin.
I would also take soap/cream recommendations.
Thanks

Well that is a good question. I don't know how to answer that. I am new to this whole concept of DE shaving and haven't ever analyzed it. I would say it is medium density heavy in some places and light in others.

I learned on a Merkur 34C and I'd say it's pretty mild. For sensitive skin nothing beats Proraso Blue (even though the containers are white, lol). Their cream and balm are a great combo.

Welcome to B&B!

Some say for sensitive skin you need a very sharp blade, like a Feather, in a very aggressive razor, like an R41, to minimise the number of passes you require. Others favour a "moderate" blade, like an Astra, in a mild razor, such as a Gillette Tech. Both might well be right for some people, but I think the main thing is to keep your pressure to an absolute minimum whichever blade/razor combo you use. I'm afraid I can't be much more specific on soaps; personally I find Mitchells Wool Fat soap to be very soothing on my skin, but others are allergic to the lanolin it contains. Many with very sensitive skins seek out scent-free creams, of which there are a few around.

Regardless of what kind of skin you have, you need to pick a blade sharp enough to not tug and pull. This really needs to be according to how coarse whiskers you have. Give at least Voskhod, Astra SP, Gillette Silver Blue, KAI and Feather a chance. I named them in approximately sharpness order.

When it comes to razors for sensitive skin there are two schools: 1. Get a mild razor. 2 Get an aggressive razor and use fewer passes.

I was belonging to the later group, but I have moved to the first group after several years of shaving.