What's new

Sensitive skin and straight shaving

Hi im shaving for about 2 month now and i was told to use proraso for sensitive skin cream and pre shave.mu razor is freeshely hone and i strop it for at least 60 times before and after a shave.my skin is very red and it ******* burn after the shave.what should i do differently??

I should have ******* none menthol in the pre shave and the cream.No wonder my face was on ******* fire!!

Get a good soap. I am new to a Feather Kamasori and a good soap is a must. SV, A&E, C&S are all under 35 bucks. From what I've read the Kamasori is sharper than a straight but less maintenance. Just change the blade. I can't comment on a traditional SR. (I don't have the patience to hone and strop). My experience with the Feather Dx Kamasori is it requires a really good soap and concentration to get a shave you are looking for without the nicks and redness. Find your angle and slow short strokes work for me. The seasoned SR guys with a lot more skill than me will chime in. The SR guys are awesome!

Hi im shaving for about 2 month now and i was told to use proraso for sensitive skin cream and pre shave.mu razor is freeshely hone and i strop it for at least 60 times before and after a shave.my skin is very red and it ******* burn after the shave.what should i do differently??

Welcome to B&B, Sir Phil!!

Tell us, what shave routine gave you least burn?

don't shave until your skin is completely healed. then go to a professional barber and get a hot towl straight razor shave. if you feel good afterwards, that means most probably your shave technique needs improvement.

also look into a pre-shave oil and a face healing cream.
ADP shave oil is pretty good from my experience. but its on the pricey side.
i used a lot of face creams, one face cream i really like is urth anti-complex and the post shave elixir is good too.