What's new

Rough, unclose shave when travelling. Why?

Hi all, I'm currently traveling in Europe. I have been DEing for over two years with great shaves and can't remember the last really lousy shave. But this week I've had two. I often travel with work and can get great shaves wherever I am, but Poland seems to be defeating me and I can't work out why. I had two good shaves elsewhere this week in other locations, but here in the place I'm staying in Warsaw, the two shaves have been rough and not close at all. It may be the water, but I've managed to build good, slick, shiny lathers. But the hairs just don't seem to come off. I've tried changing the blade twice in case of dud(s) but no good.

Any bright ideas as to what might be happening? Going home tomorrow to a long awaited Nuavia and Sudsy Soapery package so I really hope this is a local blip!!

If your post was about having a hard time to lather then i'd say it's something in the water but since this not seem to be the case, could it be as simple as jet lag affecting your technique?

Did TSA (or whatever the security may be called wherever you are) take the blade out of your razor? They did that to me once and I couldn't get a decent shave either.

Are you doing your usual prep? Hot shower, hot towel on your skin before lathering up? Are you doing your usual post-shave routine? I skipped mositurising yesterday and had a less good shave today.

Perhaps a difference in the water? You might try some distilled or bottled water to see if that makes a difference.

Polish water in common with most of Northern Europe is mosly from underground sources and is quite hard. Between that and the differential coriolis effect from a new latitude you'll just have to get used to growing a beard.

captp

Pretty Pink Fairy Princess.