What's new

Anybody use Shave Secret oil?

I'm a newbie, don't know anything. Need to preface this with that. Also, zero connection to any manufacturer or retailer or anyone or anything in the shaving-products space. I have a light, silky beard (although it's mostly gray now) and sensitive, irritable, easily damaged skin on my face.

So I was at Wal-Mart the other day looking for some Nivea Balm and I happened to see Shave Secret on the shelf for like $4-5. I thought, oh, yeah, a few people talked about oil as a pre-shave. So I bought it.

Tried it the first day as a pre-shave, with lather on top of it. Not experienced enough to notice much, especially because I keep changing too many variables (can't help myself). Then I looked at some reviews and discovered, to my surprise, several in which the reviewer was shaving with JUST the oil. Read the instructions, and that's what the manufacturer suggests. So I thought, okay, that's weird, but I'll try it.

So I think I'm on my fourth day with just the oil and man, do I like it. Yes, it's true, the experience of shaving isn't as much fun DURING THE SHAVE. But it makes my face feel great THE WHOLE REST OF THE DAY! I feel like I couldn't cut myself if I wanted to, I get zero blood or redness or irritation, and my face feels just great all day long. Kinda like exercise or meditation...it's not all that fun to do, but it makes you feel better every OTHER hour of the day.