What's new

Rigidity in DE Safety Razors

This is something that I'm just learning so, I apologize if it's been asked 500k times.

I've recently learned that some razors hold blades tighter or closer to the cutting edge that might make the blade itself a bit more rigid.

I've experienced this first hand with a Karve razor (D plate) and a Voskhod blade. I typically only get a few 2-3 good shaves out of a Voskhod with a Gillette TTO type razor, but the Karve allowed me to go almost double that (5) before I felt that it was getting a bit too tuggy.

I was also told that my poor experience with a Derby Extra was most likely due to using it with a Merkur 23c and that if I had something made the blade more rigid, that I would get a better shave with it.

So I guess my question is, does the rigidity of a razor really affect its performance or is it a "you just need better technique" sort of thing?

This is something that I'm just learning so, I apologize if it's been asked 500k times.

I've recently learned that some razors hold blades tighter or closer to the cutting edge that might make the blade itself a bit more rigid.

I've experienced this first hand with a Karve razor (D plate) and a Voskhod blade. I typically only get a few 2-3 good shaves out of a Voskhod with a Gillette TTO type razor, but the Karve allowed me to go almost double that (5) before I felt that it was getting a bit too tuggy.

I was also told that my poor experience with a Derby Extra was most likely due to using it with a Merkur 23c and that if I had something made the blade more rigid, that I would get a better shave with it.

So I guess my question is, does the rigidity of a razor really affect its performance or is it a "you just need better technique" sort of thing?