What's new

Replacement for my VDH

Ok, I want some advice and I will try and follow Doc4's advice on posting:

1. I currently am using on of the VDH boar brushes that came with a bowl and soap. I was given a cheap black badger brush by SWMBO (she's would have gotten a nicer one, but it was just a stocking stuffer of sorts). I love the heavier ivory resin handle it has, but it irritates my face. I also have an old Burma-shave that sheds if you look at it wrong.

2. I am still learning, so my technique could change at any time. But for right now I bowl lather creams. I have some soaps and would be fine with using them all the time if I could get the lathering down.

3. I am looking at boar for the sake of cost more than anything. I don't mind the feel of my VDH Boar, and could possibly tolerate one even more stout. I am just hoping to find something that lathers better and doesn't shed. This may be my only real go-to brush for a while so I would like it to be balanced enough to handle most soaps and creams. I am steering away from cheap badger since that black badger I have lights my face up. The cost of a good badger just probably isn't an option right now.

4. As far a looks go I can be very picky, but beggars can't be choosers. I tend to like the look of faux ivory as well as black, horn type handles. Again, I'll consider anything.

5. Since I am leaning towards Omega boar, I see no reason why it should cost more that $30. As far as SWMBO is concerned, the cheaper the better.:mad3:

6. Again, I want a multi use brush so I would assume a a nice medium size would be good. I have large hands so I also assume a larger type of handle might suite me better, but I'm not sure having never tried any.

7. I have been looking primarily at Omega Boar brushes. My first consideration would be the Omega Boar #49 Professional for the low cost and great ratings. The Omega 20102 Pro Boar looks much nicer and has a bigger handle, but I'm not sure it's worth twice the cost.