What's new

Past time for a follow-up report from this newbie

It’s been over a month since I posted about my return to shaving with a DE, so I figured it was (past) time for an update. Sorry this is so long.

Various wetshavers stressed the importance of prep and, as Smedley puts it, GAP (grain, angle, pressure). They were right. :smile: I’ve discovered that “no pressure” is trickier than it sounds, but is attainable. Correct blade angle is a constant concern, not always met successfully. And beard grain is an adventure. There are times I think my beard changes directions from day to day just to keep me off balance! As many of us have found, grain direction changes with location and can reverse itself abruptly :frown: . I guess I’m still learning, because I find patches where growth that I thought went like so now seems to go thataway instead. And I’m still trying to settle on the best approaches for areas where whiskers seem to grow in two directions or places like my jawline, where N-S starts going W-E or E-W.

With the exception of two days I’ve been using a black-handled SuperSpeed. I seem to have gotten the hang of using it fairly quickly. (I did use DEs for years, so this may be a return of habits both good and bad.) I fear my attentiveness to detail may drop off occasionally as a result. I generally do 2-3 passes; WTG, XTG, and then either touching up specific areas or another XTG in the opposite direction. I was pleased to find I could go S-N on my neck (XTG) without disaster. ATG seems largely a bad idea and may remain so. Mostly I’ve used AOS unscented cream and built lather on my face with a C&E best badger brush.