What's new

Pal SE Blue Carbon Blades

On my second shave using this blade. Experience with first shave found here: http://badgerandblade.com/vb/showpost.php?p=2816890&postcount=14

Modified the blade to fit into a 1912 Valet Auto Strop. Used Cella soap with a silvertip brush; side-note: loved the Cella (this is my first time using it). Much better prep this time and results were better too; less tugging than the first time, still a little bit on the the first pass.

Did 4 passes and some touch up and I'm BBS. Alum bar didn't detect any nicks or cuts. Face did feel a little raw/hot and dry after the alum was rinsed off. Used some Institute Karite aftershave balm and felt better.

Rinsed blade well, dried and applied some blade oil. Liking this blade. It seems sharper than the Ted Pellas, but a bit less smooth. Don't know how it would do without the blade oil protection between shaves, especially since I only shave about every 3 days.

I like them. You don't need to oil. I just dry off the blade and razor and they last well over a week without a hint of rust.

I like them. You don't need to oil. I just dry off the blade and razor and they last well over a week without a hint of rust.

It could take me as much as 4 weeks to get in 4 shaves sometimes. How many shaves are you getting per blade? Have you compared them to the Ted Pellas?

It could take me as much as 4 weeks to get in 4 shaves sometimes. How many shaves are you getting per blade? Have you compared them to the Ted Pellas?

I normally shave 6 times a week. So I know I can get 12 good shaves from them. Could probably go more. Mind you...I don't have the heaviest of beards. I have never tried Ted Pella blades. I have been completely satisfied with the blades I can get at my local drugstore or supermarket...GEM stainless from Walgreens, PAL from Food Lion, or the CVS blades. None need for Ted, and I don't understand the hype, or why some seem to consider them to be the gold standard.