What's new

Newbie looking for a shorter smoke

I started smoking cigarettes over 30 years ago, but quit about 2 years ago. About 15 years ago, I attempted to take up pipe smoking, but couldn't get the hang of it. (Perhaps I could give that another try).

Some of you may recall, a couple months ago, Cigars International offered a 3 cigar sampler pack, shipped, for $1. I took advantage of that just to give it a shot. Not bad, but 2 things:

1) They took about 45-60 minutes to enjoy. That's great if I have the time, but it would be nice to have an option for a 15-20 minute smoke, too.

2) SWMBO was turned off by the aroma of 2 of the 3 (and the 3rd was just "not bad"). When I smoked a pipe, my main tobacco was Captain Black Royal; she liked that.

So, any recommendations for some good, aromatic little cigars or cigarillos? I'm completely new to this, and have no ideas even what's out there and available.

Last edited:
Some of the smaller Acid cigars like the Waif might be what your looking for. Gurkha makes flavored small cigars as well.

Oh, those look excellent! Will have to give them a try - thanks!

Some of the smaller Acid cigars like the Waif might be what your looking for. Gurkha makes flavored small cigars as well.
The Acids look promising, too. Has anyone here tried them? Still need to do a little research on the Gurkhas.

Thanks for the pointers, gents! :001_smile

Well, I tried a Middleton Black & Mild tonight, very nice. I wish it didn't have a plastic tip; don't much care for that. Nice and mild, wonderfully aromatic - SWMBO seemed to like the aroma. And, the perfect size for a quick 15-20 minute smoke.

I can imagine some of you true cigar aficionados out there rolling your eyes at me and what I'm currently doing. But, hey - it's a start! :001_smile