What's new

New to straight shaving question

I'm shaving with a shavette for a few days now, and I have been using shaving foam. I want to ask before trying, is shaving soap in a bowl Ok? I'm new to this, does shaving soap like proraso give you a better shave? Or should I stick with the foam for awhile. My technique is better on my second shave as of closeness. Have watched some YouTube videos and have only had the courage to shave wtg/xtg. Would like to shave atg at some point, if there is any pointers much appreciated. I'm shaving tonight, need to know what technique I should use! I currently have been a long time de razor user!

Canned foam is much improved with added water and a brush IME. Most straight shavers use a wetter lather.
I just watched a video where the guy used shaving foam with added water. I will take your advice. I already use a foam that's thin in consistency using my ch2 synthetic brush, I buy the foam from dollar store, it seems to be thinner than let's say Gillette foamy sensitive, I will add some water to the mix Thanks! Regards Steve

I would recommend a real shaving soap, but if you don't have any adding water and lathering the canned stuff with a brush works surprisingly well IME.
I just finished shaving with the canned stuff, just now. Adding water works surprisingly well, much better, better sound feedback as well. Much of a closer shave, and not bad for a shavette. From what I heard the gold dollar straight razor is a good start, which I have as well. But needs to be honed still. Happy with the shavette. I used a feather blade in it this time which I have never done till now. Thanks for your help.

Attachments

• 1557522240981633463563.jpg
    1557522240981633463563.jpg
    512.1 KB · Views: 9
You can use the canned gel/foam, shaving cream or soap. It’s all a matter of preference. A wet, slick lather is the key.

My preference is for soaps. I had Proraso Red on deck today.