What's new

New guy saying hello and having some problems

Hello everybody! I would like to start out by saying that I just joined the site a few weeks ago and have just been lurking around and gathering a few things to get started. I have been using a mach3 for the last 12 years and am interested in badger and blade shaving. Up until the past 4 days it has been mach3 with zirh pre shave oil,shave gel or cream, and soothe balm. I have had good results but I rush. My main reason for getting into this is to slow something in my life down. I want to take time to enjoy something when im not rushing at work or to go get my daughter after work or trying to get something done at the house. I want to go into my bathroom shut the door and escape for a little bit. I received a package from Garry at his sample shop and this is what im starting with. A date code a3 1955 Gillette flair tip with the red tip and a personna super. I am also using a boar brush with art of shaving pre shave oil and unscented soap. Then captains choice north aftershave splash. He sent me cella and some other after shaves and creams to try but I already had this aos open so giving it a shot first. Shave number one went ok as far as nicks and weepers,just 1 on my chin and 2 small ones on my neck. BUT, then comes the razor burn under my left jaw that I have never had before. Let that heel for 2 days and it was gone. skin felt good so here goes try number 2. This time more nicks and weepers and worse razor burn. Same prep and products as well as razor and blade. Getting good lather has not been a problem and I face lathered the first time and tried a bowl the second. I think this is gonna be angle and pressure as those 2 things seem to be what my issues are. I do have other blades I can try if anyone thinks that may be the issue as well. I don't know much about blades except that some don't work for everyone. It might be worth sharing that I have a heavy beard that grows straight down on the left and grow