What's new

Need info on buying pocket knife

I have been carrying one of the smaller Benchmade models for quite a few years now. I like the quality of the steel in the blades plus the locking action of the axis lock. Now it is one of the small Griptillian models, which can be found in a variety of colors and fairly reasonable on e bay. I just bought one about a month ago. I had an older model 710 I think, which basically wore out.

Case still makes good knives, but I have trouble finding a blade shape I like in the size I like and they lack the blade lock.

I just got an Opineal and must say it is one of the easiest sharpening kinves I have found. They are cheap enough to try modifying the shape of both blade and handle if desired. I actually got one of the oyster knives and ground the blade so it could be sharpened. I like the shape of the blade and handle on this model and time will tell if it will hold an edge.

Last edited:
Kershaw Ken Onion Vapor. All metal with lock blade. Nice and slim. I use mine all the time. Cuts anything and I also use it for cooking. After a trip, I just chuck it in boiling water for a couple of minutes to clean, re-oil, and good to go. I love this knife.

Buck still makes great knives, especially if you go more expensive in their line. My current favourites in my collection are mostly Spyderco's, top of that list being my Titanium Spyderco Sage, beautiful knife.

I have been carrying one of the smaller Benchmade models for quite a few years now. I like the quality of the steel in the blades plus the locking action of the axis lock. Now it is one of the small Griptillian models, which can be found in a variety of colors and fairly reasonable on e bay. I just bought one about a month ago. I had an older model 710 I think, which basically wore out.

Case still makes good knives, but I have trouble finding a blade shape I like in the size I like and they lack the blade lock.