What's new

Need help lathering with C.O. Bigelow

For Christmas I received the VDH shave set with a boar brush and the smaller tube of C.O. Bigelow (proraso) shave cream. I am new to using non-aerosol shaving cream and a brush so my first couple attempts at making lather weren't so great. On my first attempt about a week ago I placed the brush in the mug for about five minutes to soak. I then emptied the mug, rung out the brush, and squirted in a little bit of co bigelow. I then whisked the shave cream. The lather wasn't thick and came out the consistency of aerosol cream that had dried after being on my face too long. My next attempt yesterday went worse. This time I didn't ring out the brush at all after soaking it and I left a small bit of water in the bottom of mug when I squirted the shave cream into it. It came out like soup. I emptied the mug and added more shave cream and tried wisking it again. Even though it was still soupy I was still able to shave with it but the soap made my hands very slippery. I kept having to stop and rinse my hands and razor. I think my problem is the temp of the water I'm soaking it, how long it's soaking, amount of shaving cream i'm squeezing out of tube, etc. What is the correct way to make rich thick lather with co bigelow and a boar brush?

mswofford

Rest in Peace
I bowl lather because it's easier to see what you're getting as you experiment with the cream/water ratio. I put an almond sized dollop in the bowl and take the dripping wet brush to it and have at it. C. O. Bigelow is an excellent cream; with experimentation you should get the lather you want.

Last edited:
Making good lather is trickier than you'd think, and worth plenty of practice. In fact, I recommend making practice lathers when you're NOT about to shave and thus don't feel any special pressure to just get it done.