What's new

metal hand warmer

Hey all, I've got an old metal hand warmer, the kind that takes lighter fluid, has a wick (but no real flame) and slips into a pouch (often, as in the one I have, red). I've never used it before, but was wondering if anyone knows how long the 'wick's usually last for? The one on it doesn't look to be used, but it's white and cloth (not the 'mesh' type ones). I ask because I don't know if I can buy any more that will fit this warmer, it's at least 40 years old I believe. Anyone have any experience with these? If the wick wears out (do they) can I just replace the 'cloth' or whatever material is used, and sort of DIY fashion? I love the look of these old metal hand warmers, but haven't tried it yet. Thanks!

I have a couple of these. Mine are WWII era. The 'whick' is asbestos on mine. I don't know how long the last. Never used one enough to wear it out. Pretty cool warmers, though.

That's all the useless info I have.

I used to have one of these when I was a kid. My Grandpa gave it to me. I don't have a clue what happened to it. I don't ever recall needing to replace anything except the lighter fluid. It was a great handwarmer, a couple of seconds and my hands were too warm!

Hey all, I've got an old metal hand warmer, the kind that takes lighter fluid, has a wick (but no real flame) and slips into a pouch (often, as in the one I have, red). I've never used it before, but was wondering if anyone knows how long the 'wick's usually last for? The one on it doesn't look to be used, but it's white and cloth (not the 'mesh' type ones). I ask because I don't know if I can buy any more that will fit this warmer, it's at least 40 years old I believe. Anyone have any experience with these? If the wick wears out (do they) can I just replace the 'cloth' or whatever material is used, and sort of DIY fashion? I love the look of these old metal hand warmers, but haven't tried it yet. Thanks!