What's new

Material of Simpsons brushes

I received an amazing Simpsons brush from Santa this year (Duke 1, best badger). Does anyone know what the handle is made of?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

EclipseRedRing

I smell like a Christmas pudding
I believe the handle is a synthetic resin as are the vast majority of modern Simpson brushes with some rare exceptions. Apparently they are lathe turned by hand but exactly what that means is not clear, to me at least. I am no expert so others will be able to confirm or correct this.

I’ve also read that are hand turned on a lathe. Not sure what they are made of though. They look nice and feel great in hand. Glad to hear you made Santa’s nice list.

That’s also what I read: hand turned etc but I was wondering why you wouldn’t simply mold the resin into a specific form. Very nice hand feel though...

Rudy Vey

Shaving baby skin and turkey necks
That’s also what I read: hand turned etc but I was wondering why you wouldn’t simply mold the resin into a specific form. Very nice hand feel though...

They used to be uniquely turned on a lathe by hand, but now I think they made on automated lathes.

EclipseRedRing

There wouldn't be small differences between those handles if they were hand turned?