What's new

Learning coti and jnat

As a learner starting on Coti’s and JNATs I’m thinking to get to the natural after going to 4K on a synthetic. Is this ok to do or should I start from the ground up on the natural?

I know some will say that no one knows my stones and I just need to try it out. I’m looking for a broad strokes, what has worked for others so I may try something similar.

For context, I have successfully honed hollow grinds using synthetics up to 8k and finish on either slate or arks.

Thanks

As someone who’s also learning how to use naturals, I like a maxed out 8k edge before going to any natural, and then using the natural with only water and light pressure and seeing how it performs. (after proper bevel set, maxing out intermediate stones, etc).

While I’m still learning how to do things, it’s nice to know “is this thing taking the edge forward or backward from the best edge I can currently make on an 8k.” Once I start with that in mind, I have a better sense of what I’m shooting for next time.

Cotis and Jnats can take an edge from a lower grit synthetic finish to a shaving finish, but sometimes it’s hard for me to tell where the upper limit of a stone ought to be unless I start using it at a known, solid 8k edge.

My 2c from someone in the middle of the process.

I don't straight razor shave as often as I once did, but previously it was the only type of razor I used.

I got use to walking jnat and coti edges up from a 1.5k shapton with slow dilution. It should be possible with most razor quality examples of either stone.

If I wanted to experience the edge for the first time without all the faff of a slow dilution, I'd get the highest quality synthetic edge I could manage and finish the razor on a light slurry on a jnat, or on clear water on a coti. They should help you get the idea of what a good edge from the stone can be without all the fuss.