What's new

Kanayama strop

Does anyone know if the Kanayama strops are treated with something?
My strop seem to be doing more to me edges then some of my other strops. It was baught new, and I have not done anything to it.
It is not doing anything good to my edges.
I had a perfectly good edge I now have to rehone, because the strop created a false edge.

Not that I know of. I have to say that besides 2 Wostenholms, all my strops are from Naomi san and never had an issue.

Does anyone know if the Kanayama strops are treated with something?
My strop seem to be doing more to me edges then some of my other strops. It was baught new, and I have not done anything to it.
It is not doing anything good to my edges.
I had a perfectly good edge I now have to rehone, because the strop created a false edge.

Be interested to hear what people think here.

I'm not a strop expert by any means, but my Kanayama 50k is very, very different from any of my others. Which I'd put down to the hard and shiny nature of the leather, but I've no idea really. Though mine seems to do less than other strops, if using after honing a razor I usually use another strop first, otherwise I'd be there all day!

What is a 'false edge' btw...?

It’s been years since I had one of these strops. But as I recall it did nothing other strop did/do.

Curious about the false edge also.

Be interested to hear what people think here.

I'm not a strop expert by any means, but my Kanayama 50k is very, very different from any of my others. Which I'd put down to the hard and shiny nature of the leather, but I've no idea really. Though mine seems to do less than other strops, if using after honing a razor I usually use another strop first, otherwise I'd be there all day!

What is a 'false edge' btw...?
False edge is just a small burr.
Every time I use this strop it seem to degrade a good edge. This does not happen if I use my other strops.
There seem to be some white residue embedded in the leather.