What's new

Just got my flu shot for the year.

Occupational hazard - I work in the medical field for my day job.

Are you planning to get a flu shot this year?

I have to. It's something that's required for all active coast guard folks - not sure about the rest of the military.

I try to avoid it as much as I can though - it gets me sicker than if I never even got the shot.

Never for me...I was forced to get one,and a chest xray,on a stay at the hospital 2 years ago...I have had the flu 3 times the last 40 years,so I hope I have built some immunity.I see no reason to inject myself with fluids that usually contain preservatives and other chemicals such as mercury...Only 2/3 of U.S. flu vaccine does not contain liquid mercury...I'm out on that alone..

Got it Yesterday. Have been very skeptic about them, with inconsistent results. Last year I got a very good one. I can tell because everyone around me got sick at least one during the year and not me. So I happily got it again this year.

My employer tried to introduce (semi mandatory) flu shots for the personnel a few years ago ... after the public outcries, it looks like the plan disappeared in a bottom drawer somewhere :wink2:

My employer tried to introduce (semi mandatory) flu shots for the personnel a few years ago ... after the public outcries, it looks like the plan disappeared in a bottom drawer somewhere :wink2:
You have a responsible employer, our winter sick records are going through the roof. If half the people took the jab we wouldn't have such stressful winters in the office.

My parent unit is medical, so every year they herd us up and try to do 100% in quickest time possible just so they can make numbers.
I'm good with the shot, the flu mist is gross.

If I recall correctly every year is a new cocktail of stains and they try to see what strains will be effective every season. So its important that you get one every year because you may not have immunity for a previous or new strain.