What's new

Judging the bevel...

What should I be looking for before moving on from the bevel setting stage?

When I first started honing, I used a coti with what I now know to have been too much slurry. Since I was a novice honer and didn't even realize I was affecting the bevel, I think I may have mucked it pretty badly. Since that time, I've managed to get a pretty good edge on my razors, but it's very difficult. I think I'm still well short of perfecting my edges, but I'm not sure if it's my overall honing inexperience, a poorly set bevel or both. So, I'm trying to figure out how to best gauge the razor's current condition and what to do about it.

I don't have a microscope. I do have a 20x jeweler's loupe. I've inspected the bevel reflecting from a strong light source, which seems to be more revealing than the loupe. I read an article from Robert Williams that seems to support this. It appears using this method that the bevel is not the same width all the way across the blade, but I don't see any other unusual light or dark spots.

First question I have is it normal to have some deviation in the width of a bevel or is this pretty indicative of a poorly set bevel?

Second question is, assuming the deviation is not desired, how hard is it to correct, especially for a relatively new honer? I'm wondering if I should just punt and send my mucked razor to a honemeister to fix the bevel (again assuming the above is indicative of a bad bevel) or try to fix the bevel myself.

First question I have is it normal to have some deviation in the width of a bevel or is this pretty indicative of a poorly set bevel?
I think you're good to go if you have some variation in the bevel width as long as it shaves well at all points along the blade. You're more or less inheriting the hone wear from someone else based on the particular geometry or imperfection characteristics of your blade. But if it shaves, it shaves...