What's new

Jig saw vs reciprocating saw

What is the difference between the two? I'm new to the world of power tools, sorry in advance for the dumb questions coming your way guys

Jig saw, reciprocating saw, saber saw are all pretty much interchangeable terms. Today a recip is usually a heavy duty saw for demo and construction work

$recip.jpg
While a jigsaw, or saber saw, typically refers to:

$jig.jpg

Or a jigsaw (or scroll saw) refers to:

$scrol.jpg

Confused? Welcome to my world.

Jig Saw - Use to cut pieces in a up and down motion, some bases will give adjustment to angle and some blades can be thin enough to cut large curves. Cuts are generally not entirely straight unless you use a guide. Even then, the blade sometimes moves if the saw is pushed.

Reciprocating Saw - used free hand and is usually for cutting where raw, non-straight cuts are not a problem. Blade length can vary and the saw is usually used for demolition.

Kentos

B&B's Dr. Doolittle.
Staff member
Jig saws use smaller blades, require the foot to contact the surface of the material being cut(most of the time), have less blade reciprocating distance, and generally used for cutting odd shapes or cutting into corners where two cuts meet where a circular saw won't reach. Generally a "finish" tool.

Sabre/Tiger/Sawzall use much longer/larger blades, do not need to contact the material being cut, have 3/4" or more of blade travel, has enough torque to power the blade through thicker tougher material, and generally used as a demo/rough tool

Both are different enough where I need both for my work, but if you all you do is demo or frame all day you would have no need for a jig saw. If you were a finish carpenter, you would find a jigsaw more useful, however you would probably have a Sawzall as well.

thanks very much guys!

I'm kicking around the idea of building my daughter a playhouse in the back yard and was trying to decide what I need, and wasn't 100% sure what the difference was

luvmysuper