What's new

Japanese Shaving Knife Review (OR "Lather and Blood"

Good afternoon, all! I'm here to review the Japanese Shaving knife that was so graciously PIFed to me by Mike. There was some speculation in the thread about how awful these may be; I can confirm from experience that they were justified. But, first, let me give you a rundown on my little experiment. Into the fray!
Initial Impressions: Upon first receiving this item (I'm somewhat on the fence as to what to call it), I was immediately struck by it's lightness. As a full-time shavette user, the lightest I have is my Parker SR1; this felt more lke a toothbrush. The handle appears to be made out of a lightweight plastic with a modified hair-shaper blade affixed to one end. There are some parallels with a both medical scalpel and a Kamisori razor. I have some (limited) experience with Kamis, so I was somewhat sure of how to hold it. Even though it was light and cheap-looking, I had high hopes for it; It's Japanese, Feathers are Japanese, how bad can it be? Oh, how naïve I was...

The battlefield: $Bearded Weirdness 010.jpg I had about 24 hours of stubble grown out, so I figured it would be an easy test for a new razor. Granted, my beard is steel-cable-tough, and most razor blades can only go one round with it. My prep was a hot shower with a glycerin soap (Pears).
The Team:$Bearded Weirdness 009.jpg VDH Pure Badger Brush, Speick soap (Grated and pressed into an old pomade tin), the PIFed razor (which I believe to be a Kai product), alum; my standard setup for testing new razors and/or blades. Soaked the brush and Speick while I showered.