What's new

Inconsistent product???

I've been using CAR products for about 4 months now and noticed that the paste and cube seem to be inconsistent from jar to jar or cube to cube. For example, I just finished on jar of paste and it was thick. Opened a new jar and it's thin and runny. Still very slick however. Same type of experience with cubes (different outcomes with different boxes).

Knowing that the goal of method shaving is to have similar results from shave to shave, has anyone else noticed this?

I've noticed some slight variation in the shave paste before; but that's about it. Honestly, whenever I gave it a stir with my finger things evened out just fine. The stuff is made in very small batches and is purported to not contain chemicals, etc. I just chalked it up to "separation" from sitting, temp. fluctuation and such. The cubes I've used have all seemed the same.

I've seen a lot of variation in Taylors creams as well. Other than just going "hmmm," and making a mental note of it - I never noticed any performance difference. My St. James cream is almost runny and my Eton college is very thick and pasty.

My technique is nowhere near that perfect or rock-solid that I would be able to point out a variance in a product and have it be earth-shattering. Well, maybe someday...:blush:

HydroLast paste does not contain any chemical stabilizers, therefore the consistency may not be exacty the same from jar to jar. This should have absolutely no effect on it's performance.