What's new

In defense of the much maligned Tweezerman...

I have been wetshaving for about 3 1/2 months. At first I started out with a Tweezerman pure badger brush off of Amazon for $13.50. I got this brush because I was on a budget and needed to start cheap. When using the brush I felt bad because I had read many posts on this forum, and others, advising new users that the Tweezerman brush was a good 'starter' brush but that you would, obviously, want to move up to the C&E BBB. Consequently I saw this brush as terribly inferior and looked forward to when I could get the BBB.

I used the Tweezerman brush for about two months but, then, after Thanksgiving, I was able to get my C&E BBB and I never looked back. I thought "thank God I finally have a GOOD brush, and I don't have to feel inadequate because I was using a brush that was viewed as barely above a VDH boar brush".

But something has happened, this weekend, which makes me realize that the Tweezerman brush deserves a much better reputation. I have been out of town, working on an extended contract. I was coming home for the weekend, but I didn't want to check luggage. Consequently, I left my Derby Extra blades at the site, along with my C&E BBB, my witch hazel, and my AS. All I took with me was my razor and my tabac (don't leave home without it). I knew that, at home, I had my old "inferior", and "inadequate" Tweezerman brush, but that it could do the job for a few days.

This morning, I took out the brush to shave and looked at it with pity and disgust in my eyes. Then I touched it.... It was MUCH softer than I remembered. In fact, I found it to be just as soft, if not actually SOFTER, than my C&E BBB! Moreover, the knot feels denser to me, although that could be my imagination. As I went to load the brush with soap, I was amazed at how much I was able to load into it. I built lather just as good as I ever have with my BBB, and when I put the lather on my face, it felt just as soft.