What's new

Iconic Fountain Pen?

Antique Hoosier

“Aircooled”
My sister called me and told me her son would like a fountain pen as a graduation present. Suggestions? Guide me to biggest bang for the $?

I always recommend Cross FP's as gifts for people.
The Century II series is a nice, recognizable style.
I have one that I've been using for darn near 20 years now. It works just as well as the day I bought it.

Personally, I am a fan of the Townsend series. It's one of their higher end series, maybe not what you're looking for in a gift.

My only other piece of advice is to get one where the recipient can find cartridges and other accessories easily. It's a little annoying when you have to go order everything online for top dollar.

Cross can be found almost everywhere.

How old is the recipient and how much are looking to spend.

If I had to pick one pen as being iconic, it would be my Pelikan 800.

I'm not saying that other pens don't fit this bill, but the Pelikan is a historic brand and this pen's predecessors go back to the early history of the fountain pen.

The fact that its also a great writer (the pen I judge all others by in terms of writing ability) and holds a ton of ink are factors that make this my favourite pen.

Although he might not like the looks of it, a Lamy Safari might be a good choice. It's not too expensive if he decides he doesn't like writing with it. There's the option for both ink cartridges and bottled ink (if you buy a converter). They're made of sturdy ABS plastic and the clip on them is really good. I would recommend either a Fine or Extra Fine nib (I prefer the Extra Fine) because European nib sizes generally run wider than what one would perceive as "Fine" or "Medium."

Nice vintage restored Parker 51, get an aerometric fill vs vac fill if possible.

If he ends up not liking it you/your sister will recoup 90-100% of what you paid for it.