What's new

How many DE blades to sample?

I'm new to DE shaving (about 2 months in). Though I have wet shaved with straights a few years ago. I since gave it up because it was too time consuming and I never really got great shaves. I think my stropping technique was to blame. I have a nice Dovo straight but could never get it to shave ready sharpness. So I reluctantly went back to cartridges (Gillette Fusion, Pro-Glide) sometime used cheapo disposables. Always got razor burn, bumps etc.

I picked up the VDH (Weishi) DE razor and 5 pack of VDH blades one night at Target. Had I done a little more research beforehand I would have gotten a Merkur 34C to start. I had already had some VDH soap and the brush / bowl / stand I had from my straight setup. I figured if I could handle straights I could handle a DE.

After doing a bit of research I realized I had a very mild razor and a pack of blades that most people didn't like and were overpriced. But I'm glad I got it because it got me interested in wet shaving again. I've since replaced my brush with a Perfecto Badger brush as my old one was constantly loosing hairs. I bought RazoRock's metholated lime pre-shave glycerine soap and alum block. I threw out my cheap CVS brand alcohol based aftershave and replaced it with RazoRock lime problem solver splash and Captain's Choice Bay Rum balm. I also bought Mitchell's Wool Fat soap which I'm looking forward to using once my VDH soap puck runs out. I bought a Merkur 39C slant as well but have yet to use it.