What's new

Honing Routine for a Newbie

As I'm new to the world of straights, I've got a few questions regarding honing. I purchased my Dovo Tortoise 5/8 from Vintage Blades. As a result, it has been professionally honed by Lynn Abrams before it reached me. I've got two shaves down and they have been great. I've also been working on my stropping routine. However, I know that at some point I will have to acquire a hone. I am looking at going with the very popular Norton 4000/8000 waterstone.

Now once I receive the stone, what is the routine I should use? I've been watching some of Lynns videos on YouTube and am just a tiny bit confused. Will I need to reset the bevel of the blade each time I hone or am I good to go now that Lynn already pre-honed my razor and as a result, will I only need to sharpen?

Any input would be greatly appreciated for a straight noob like me! :lol:

If Lynn honed the blade, then all you should need to do is touch it up every so often. You won't have to reset the bevel every time...Plenty of people say that they get great shaves off of the norton 8k, so IMO it's a great stone to learn on (I did!)...

You should not need to drop down below the 4k and likely not below the 8K. I find it takes great skill and touch to get a barely shave ready edge off the norton 8K-lots of folks do it but for me it is not keen or smooth enough.

Also if any pasted strops were used in the honing you will likely have a slightly rounded bevel and the 8K stone may not hit the edge itself.

I would also encourage you to pick up a second razor from the BST of WD for practice honing.

Great advise above, especially the suggestion to pickup up a second, inexpensive razor to practice on.
Norton's are good stones - they come flat but, you will need to round off or soften the edges to protect your razor. I still use my Norton 220/1K and 4K/8K stones.