What's new

Home Roasting for Beginners

I'm am just now getting ready to home roast my own coffee. Where do I start? I am totally lost. :confused:

Any and all beginner info would be greatly appreciated, especially that for a total newbie.

Thanks all!

I genuinely appreciate the tip Ron, but any basic information to help me get started before going to a whole new forum? I'd rather gleam all the info I can from B&B before moving on.

Tim,

If you're even thinking about home roasting, you probably have a favorite coffeehouse coffee. The first thing I'd do is visit Sweet Marias (www.sweetmarias.com), go to the "green beans" section and read the descriptions of that (and similar) coffees. For starters, I'd pick a coffee that could take a wide range of roasts (basically, some coffees burn more easily than others). Even if you decide to buy your coffee from someone else, you'll want to do your homework on what you intend to buy.

At the beginning, I'd pick one coffee and stick to it (just like the "one razor" advice given to DE newbies like me :001_smile ). For instance, master Sumatra before moving on to Kenya AA. Also, realize that a decaf bean roasts entirely differently from a regular coffee bean. You'll want to buy at least 5# of this coffee (but maybe not 20#, until you know for certain that you love those beans).

If you decide to go with an air-roaster (certainly the most fool-proof option), where are you going to roast? The beans give off a lot of smoke (enough to set off smoke detectors), and with a small capacity roaster you might be roasting every day. A garage, workshed, or covered patio would be good. Also, these air-roasters can be noisy (think hair dryer on high), so think about noise pollution when it comes to placement.