What's new

Help will a fontain pen work for me

I'm very new to fountain pens and my choice was the highly deemed parker 51.
It's only been weeks, but I have not experienced any leakage or dryness problems. Starts immediately every time even if I haven't used it in few days. And I've sometimes carried around it in my jacket's pocket.

You won't call it 'pretty' but certainly has a vintage look that I like quite a bit.

The MontBlanc Solitaire Carbon Steel LaGrand Fountain Pen is my pen of choice. The Steel and Carbon Fiber make a strong statement. It's also a great conversation starter.

proxy.php

Image "borrowed" from www.stylofinepens.com

Randy asked:
The voice of experience ?

Guilty :blushing:

But it was 1984. What the hell did I know? I was on the flight because of a girl. :001_rolle
My hormones were screaming so loud I'm surprised the Japanese fellow next to me could hear the in-flight movie (which was "Romancing the Stone", BTW).

Did I get the girl despite my fountain pen faux pas?

I can hear her breathing in the next room as I type this...

I have a Pelikan M200 some guy in Germany was selling on EBay for something like $65 Buy-It-Now. A great little pen. Holds a massive amount of ink. Light as a feather, you can write for hours with it without your hand cramping. I have many pens, but the little Pelikan has become my daily user.

Pelikan, Lamy are great recommendations. I'm mostly a Caran d'Ache man, myself. Their Ecridor line is tgorgeous and top quality, their (steel) nibs perform better than many gold ones. Fairly affordable as well.

This is probably a stupid question but I found a waterman converter at colorado pens, do I need more then 1 for each color ink I buy? Has anyone purchased from colorado pen as they have a nice selection of the Pelikan, Lamy and other pens some of you were referring to.

do I need more then 1 for each color ink I buy?