What's new

Hello!

Hello everyone,

This is Gin from Italy, but living abroad (and changing countries frequently). I shave both my beard and head, and I am here to improve my shaving techniques and results.

Currently, I have an Edwin Jagger safety razor, and I have two types of blades:
Derby extra, the ones I bought when I started shaving with the safety razor.
Feather new hi-stainless, very new purchase because I want deeper shaving for my beard (head was ok) - and I am quite happy with them.

I have to say that the Feather are a bit aggressive for my head, so I might continue using the Derby (given the final result has always been satisfactory).

My routine is simple: I usually start with an electric razor to shorten the hair (5min max for both head and beard), then I go with the safety razor.

I am experimenting with a few products (currently I have a set of shaving and after-shaving creams by Truefitt & Hill), but I am a total newbie here.

PS I am really a newbie; the only thing I know is that I should find the right direction of my facial hair and follow it with my razor, and this direction changes point by point.

What am I looking for in this forum, specifically:
- I would love to build a routine, using the right products, so some help to identify what fits my needs is more than welcome
- I would love to shave my beard more deeply, and I have no clue how to do it (is it a matter of technique? Do I need to change razor/blades?)
- I am considering learning how to use a straight razor if that could help me improve my results

In case you have in mind some posts within the forum that could help me, please link them here.

Thanks a lot, and see you around!

Welcome!

Different razor for a closer shave. You don't need to go to a straight.

There are endless good products. The most traditional is a good tallow soap, a brush, a ceramic bowl or mug, a splash.