What's new

Hello Everyone

Thanks for letting me join, I’ve just started with straight razors and de razors about 3 months.i can’t wait to shave everyday it’s great. I enjoy honing almost as much as shaving. I have a quick question. I have polished a straight razor all the way to .3 micros but now I have uneven sound on my strop. What should I do. Thanks again for letting me join

Can't help with the razor, as I am still learning myself. However, welcome to the forums. Glad you joined us.

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk

I have a quick question. I have polished a straight razor all the way to .3 micros but now I have uneven sound on my strop. What should I do. Thanks again for letting me join
Welcome to B&B. I cannot help with your question but ask in the straight razor section and I am sure you will get some helpful replies.

Welcome! How did you go about polishing up your razor? Only on stones or stones + pasted strops ect?
Does it give an even sound through the whole stroke but give a different sound on the way back? If you can only hear that "scratch" sound sometimes then maybe you have to give the strop some slack. Try pulling it tight then light pressure stropping, if its uneven or doesn't give you good feedback here try giving the strop gradual slack.
Glad to have you here!

Welcome! How did you go about polishing up your razor? Only on stones or stones + pasted strops ect?
Does it give an even sound through the whole stroke but give a different sound on the way back? If you can only hear that "scratch" sound sometimes then maybe you have to give the strop some slack. Try pulling it tight then light pressure stropping, if its uneven or doesn't give you good feedback here try giving the strop gradual slack.
Glad to have you here!