What's new

Has anyone tried the Muhle Companion yet?

Anyone tried this yet? Thoughts? I'm always looking for the daily shaving grail (RAD, sigh) ... this one's been on my radar for a while. Boofy cord notwithstanding, the thought of $50, brand new molds for the head, tight blade clamping design, minimal (I think) blade exposure and covered ends sounds good for daily shaving

I'm a novice when it comes to shaving, but I've liked the companion as a starter for me. I found it hard to nick myself given the head design, but also hard to reach some corners.

I like the razor for the most part.

The looks
Its very nice in my opinion. But I especially like the design of the handle as far as such handles go. That "fingerprint" pattern enables sufficient grip ... it is just the perfect kind of grippy for me. I am not particularly fond of "classical" deeply (pointy, teethy) knurled handles, because the grip and adhesion is too much for my liking. Yes there is such a thing as too much grip in my opinion. I do not like the handles that adhere so much to my skin (with its knurled teeth) that I get the feeling that if something would pull the razor out of my hands it would tear my skin right off with it.
The fit of topcap and baseplate
Topcap and baseplate fit in a way reminiscent of Feather AS-D2 design with corners of topcap additinally having square slots that perfectly fit into holes in the baseplate. I really like that as it perfectly aligns both parts. No chance for misalignment. The blade tabs are fully covered. Side of the head is curvy (and convex), and fully enclosing the blade, so less chance of accidentally nicking when doing a pass under the nose or near earlobes.
The cord