What's new

First straight razor question.

Hello All.

This is my first post here. Looks like a great place!

I have been wet shaving now for 3 years now. I have been using a Merkur Futur and for the past 6 months I have been using Feather blades and have been loving them.

I have always wanted to use a straight razor and mentioned it to my wife earlier this year so to my suprise my wife bought me a TI Snakewood straight razor for christmas and a Walking horse Strop.

Christmas morning I tried it and cut my face up a bit but it was ok. It seemed to pull alot. The next day I stroped it, knicked the end of my stop on both ends :mad3: and my shave was not good. It pulled more than the first day. The first day it pulled more than when I started wet shaving with derby blades. The second day it pulled so much that I couldn't use it.

My questions after doing a bunch of research the past few days are.

1. Do I need to get my straight honed after knicking my strop?
2. I am looking at getting a 4 sides strop and diamond pastes to get the blade sharper than it came from the factory. Am I correct in assuming that because it pulled alot on first use it could be sharpened more?

Any more advice on this would be very helpful!

Thanks all.

Hello and welcome to the forum.
Firstly, has the straight already been honed? All new straights sold are not shave ready unless they have been honed after they have left the factory and are sold as specifically being shave ready. Some retailers provide this service but alot don't. If it hasn't been honed then you will definitely need to get it done.

It could be your prep or blade andle but most likely it needs to be properly honed. I would get one of the honemeisters to hone it for you then you will know for shore.