What's new

Face washing with shave soap?

Hey, fellas. I'm a newbie that's been wet-shaving for a month and DE shaving for a week.

I just read about a guy washing his face with shave soap. This sounds interesting.

Williams, Arko, Conk Bay Rum, Cella, Proraso Red and Green, VDH pink and glycerine soaps are in my den.

1.) Which soap/cream should I use?

2.) Should I wash my entire face, nose and forehead?

Last edited:
soap is soap wash away lol.
little bit of history Williams use to advertize as a do all soap, hand washing face washing dishes ect.

When I make Uberlather (soap + cream + few drops of liquid glycerin) I wash my entire face with the lather prior to lathering up.

It was how I got my son to wash his face when he was younger. Got him his own brush so he could cover his whole face.

I've been known to lather a puck in the evenings (I'm a morning shaver) and wash my face. The soap leaves my face feeling better than most other soaps, smells better than other soaps, and I like the brush feel on the face! Plus it's a good way to reduce soaps that aren't your best shaving performers (for those of us who may have bought more shave soap than we'll ever use!).

Earlier this month I picked up a puck of Marvy shave soap, but I don't think I'd even want to wash my hands with that junk.

Last edited:

Luc

"To Wiki or Not To Wiki, That's The Question".
Staff member
Musgo makes a pre-shave soap. It works well but I honestly do not notice a difference when I use a regular body soap to wash my face before shaving.

[a]I started doing this as a way to justify the whole dollar I spent on Williams, now I've come to enjoy it. Plus, in the end, though I'm not shaving with it, I'm doing my part to keep Williams in business. [/FONT][/B][/I]

Last edited by a moderator:
Musgo makes a pre-shave soap. It works well but I honestly do not notice a difference when I use a regular body soap to wash my face before shaving.