What's new

Educate an old guy on injector razors please

I have been shaving for going on 5 decades now. I have many DE's and several SE's and have even dabbled a bit with straight edges but I have never used an injector razor. I want to get a couple but I am pretty ignorant about them in general. If it helps I like the Gillette NEW for its aggressiveness and it's shorter handle. I've been doing this a long time so I am pretty good at adjusting technique to fit the requirements of the blade and razor. I do like those butterscotch handles on some of the photos of injectors I have seen on the forum and would really like to find a great piece. Any advice on which model or brand to buy would be appreciated. I would also appreciate some idea of what an excellent to mint injector might cost me. I hate ebay so if anyone has one that they are willing to sell just let me know. Thanks. I am sure that with the group we have here I'll be shaving with one in no time.:001_smile

Hi Dave, I am an old guy also and use my injectors on a weekly basis with one exception. My wife nabbed my Paul Revere injector and loves it. The injectors are very simple to use, were invented in the 30's for ease of use so that you did not have to handle a double edge blade. You just insert the injector blade into the injector handle and it shoves the old blade out and into the trash can that I hold it over when changing blades. It has a compact head which is easy to use around the nose and mouth area and even when I shave with my Fatboy, toggle, Futur, etc. I still use one of my injectors for the nose area many times because it is easy and efficient. There are several selections of injectors and several are very popular like the Schick Adjustable, Easy Rider, Stick Shick, and the "butterscotch" ones that you mentioned. The blades are easy to find and usually a little more than the DE's but a fraction of the new multiple blade cartridges. Good luck. Doug