What's new

Editing software.

simon1

Self Ignored by Vista
Anyone use GIMP? It's free and should cover more than I need for my level of experience. But I've never used anything except what came with Windows 8.1.

cannot say I have. what do you want to do? basic cropping?
what camera do you use, that opens different options for you

All depends on your needs/requirements.

Photoshop has been my go to for decades but Ulead licensed us to give away one of their products.

What are your requirements.

simon1

Self Ignored by Vista
cannot say I have. what do you want to do? basic cropping?
what camera do you use, that opens different options for you

Want to sharpen and enhance color and clarity in pics. I'm using a Nikon D3400 kit with the 18-55 lens and have a Tamron 18-400 lens on the way.

I'm still learning about luminosity, layering, and masking. I need to learn more of the basics before I even try to use photoshop or something that you need to pay for. I can do cropping, brightness, saturation, etc. in the little thing in Windows Photos that comes with 8.1 OS. I also have an Imgur account.

In other words I'm wanting to enhance photos to make them "pop" as much as I can right now.

I'm not investing a ton of money in camera equipment...I'm looking at more to composing the subject, using the location, learning more about lighting, and other basics. There are good subjects around here to shoot without scouting locations. There were two Kingfishers perched on the fence rail by the pond for a few hours this morning. They usually swoop down, spear a fish, then bring it back to the fence and beat it senseless before swallowing it.

Then there are deer, coyotes, some longhorns in a pasture a bit from here, and other such subjects.

Last edited:

simon1

Self Ignored by Vista
I took this of some wood storks from the front porch a few days ago. I took a few more before they spooked, but I wanted to see if my shutter speed setting would freeze the wings in motion.