What's new

Dinner Rolls

DoctorShavegood

"A Boy Named Sue"
Piping hot sweet baby's of pull apart pillows of bread. Easy but not fast. The reward is a smile from family members who make yum sounds. :001_smile

Here's the video:
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=48jTPkCapIE

$image.jpg

3 cups all purpose flour
1 tsp salt
1 large egg
1 cup of warm water
1 Packet of active yeast
1/3 cup of sugar
2 Tablespoons of olive oil

Warm water to 110F add suger and yeast and whisk let sit for 10 minutes. Sift flour into large bowl. Add all ingredients together and mix. Dump out onto floured countertop and knead for 8 minutes. Stick back into bowl with a little oil and proof for 1 hour. Separate into 12 equal portions and roll into balls. Place balls onto parchment paper that's been sprayed with nonstick spray...place into large casserole dish. Let proof for 40 minutes. Place in 375F oven for 15-18 minutes.

Last edited:
I've been making no-knead bread for three years and love it. Those rolls look fantastic. I think I need to expand my carb baking horizons. Thanks for posting!

Aaron, they look fantastic and I would guess they are airy light and flaky inside. My wife's mother and grandmother taught me how and they really pounded it into me that for hot rolls the KISS principle comes into play. Theirs look much like yours.

When it came time to form them and pan them up, they emphatically made me pour a coating of oil on the bottom of the baking pan and toss the rolls in and shake them around til coated. Bake til well browned. Done. Delicious....And now I am expected to make them for all holiday meals!

We would love to give it a try but Baking in Colorado never works out for the wife. And I'll tried myself and it just dont work. The elevation keeps the wife from baking. I think she using it as an excuse but I tried too and no go. Stuff never rises.

Thay look pretty and I bet are great, We will use the package kind like always. Thats ok as I do like them.

DoctorShavegood