What's new

dad found his Dad's (Papa's) Razor

I dont have pics, as this straight is at home in Massachusetts...

its box is marked JR Torrey Company Worcester, Mass. 0146

dad says it looks good, one flea bite and some tarnish, I hope to get it from him in the next few months,

but what can I tell him about it in the mean time?

scott

Tell him thanks, and that it will be revered & used often!
Then restore it & build a custom display box...
Then shave with it weekly!

when i get it i will inquire with you fine folks on how to get it restored, then will consider putting it to my face ( i have never used a straight before)

when i get it i will inquire with you fine folks on how to get it restored, then will consider putting it to my face ( i have never used a straight before)

get it honed by a pro
if i were you ide pick up the whipped dog poormans kit to get you started to get your technique down pat incase you drop the razor or anything like that
just my 2 cents

I finally got the razor in my hands after all this time and snapped a quick pic...

seems to be in good if not great shape...I'll let you guys judge...I can try to snap a few more picks..the scales are completely intact, there is a little discoloration on the opposite side...

who should I contact about getting this cleaned up and honed...?

I have a Torrey 0146 too...they are wonderful shavers, so I would definitely get it cleaned up & honed...I think you'll enjoy it!!

You are a fortunate guy. Agree about having someone who knows what he's doing hone it for you. I'd buy an inexpensive razor to practice keeping it sharp. Congrat on having the reminder of your grandad.

Slash McCoy

I freehand dog rockets
www.whippeddog.com for a second straight to make your newbie mistakes on. Send the Torrey out to a pro for honing. Actually, Larry hones for a reasonable price if nobody else offers to do it.