What's new

Checking my thoughts

So first I should give a short introduction since this my first post.

I have been shaving exclusively with straight razors for 7-8 years now (as in not even 1 shave with a plastic thing, or DE razor.) I am self taught so I prolly have lots of bad habits but don't we all. I have been a long time lurker of this forum an finally decided to join an ask some questions I have.

So for the last year I have been shaving with a feather with disposable blades for the convenience it offered, I was tired of maintaining my razor (didn't have the extra time with a newborn) I have since regained sometime and are ready to pick up my trusty razors.

I guess it would be best to start with what I have, an thought progression leading up to the question so we are all on the same page.

My equipment now is a N4k/8k its all I have used an basic strop no pastes. I have been able to keep a good shaving edge. Sometimes I can really put a nice edge on it sometimes its just a good edge.

It all started when I was looking for a new razor to treat myself rejoining the master race of razors. I've always wanted a Dovo Bismark don't know why just like them. Then I found this awesome little company (I like supporting the little man). ran my a man named Ralf Aust. So I have decided on purchasing one of his fine razors.

Now the next thought is well I will need to redo the edge of my 2 razors I have now a Dovo Col. Conk 5/8 round point, and Beau Brummel #35 5/8 American point. (I have prolly 6 vintage razors but they are just for collecting).