What's new

Charleroi straight razor

Dear All,

I am quite new to wet shaving, but I have been enjoying a Gillette Super Speed or Rocket since Christmas. :biggrin: I love it!
Although I am not planing to switch to a straight razors for a while, I found an almost irresistible offer.
Almost, because I am not sure weather I shoul buy this beauty or not.
Please, give me some advise! Does anyone of you know this brand (Charleroi)?
Shall I go for it? :confused:

Don't know the brand, but Charleroi is a city in Belgium once renowned for its steel industry. Now it's Belgiums rust belt with lots of unemployed people and 1/4 of the active population working for the state. :001_huh: :nonod:

So, probably, your razor is made in Belgium. It must be good. :tongue1:

The name doesn't sound familiar to me either, but chances are good that it's a decent razor being from that neck of the woods....go ahead and pick it up! .....and if you don't, tell me where I can! :biggrin:

If your not planning on using it why do you want to get it? I'm not familiar with the brand but personally it doesn't look so hot to me. It looks like a well used razor and there appears to be a chip in the scales. if you were looking for a razor to practice honing and stropping and you were able to get the thing for a couple bucks then I'd say OK but its not like its some pristine piece.

Thanks for your comments, guys!
I bought it! :tongue: And I am - hopefully - going to use it; but not in the near future. Because I want to practice my skills with my beloved DE first. I am striving for perfection... :biggrin:
I added another pic - just cut out this part and enlarged it; sorry for the quality -, so you can take a closer look. I also figured out that it says "A CHARLEROI", which probably means "from Charleroi" - forgive me, but I do not speak French.
The scales are actually not chipped at all; it was just me erasing some ad text...