What's new

Cant get a straight edge sharp

Evening folks, I'm a bit of a newbie to straight razors, tried the shavettes before, but they were way too unforgiving. Picked up a vintage (really good shape) American straight razor and a dubl duck with a chip. I have been using a fallkniven ceramic whetstone, a 100mmX40mm coticule (seems very coarse), 100x40 bbw, and a surgical black arkansas. I roll with the ceramic till shaving armhair, then coti, bbw, arkansas, then strop. I can get an okay shave but it likes to catch. Any advice would be appreciated.

I suggest you change out your bevel-setter for something more suitable. That's a diamond-ceramic stone, right? I suggest not using diamond as your bevel setter. It likes to make deep, harsh scratches.

Spend time with your bevel setter until you feel as though you could shave with the edge.

My bevel-setter is the Shapton Glass 1000. Other people like the Shapton Pro 1500, or the Naniwa Chosera Pro 1000. I'm sure others will be along with their suggestions.

Also a BBW is usually coarser than a coticule. A "very coarse" coticule seems strange, and also not something that should be a part of a razor sequence.

Your Ark finisher sounds great.

Yeah, I used the diamond to get the chip out and since I've just been using the ceramic side which is slowwwwwwww. I also have a few spare arks laying around somewhere and a chromium oxide? The coticule with a thick slurry takes metal off faster than I was expecting. It still refines the edge a lot more than the ceramic but it doesnt seem to be shaving smooth afterwards. I also have a diamond kit with up to 1200 grit and a 6k water stone laying around somewhere. I thought it might be something to do with not spending enough time with the lower grits.