What's new

Brush repair

I have a Rudy Vey special editicn badger brush that I purchased in 2014. The glue has dried out and split although the knot is still attached. How can I get this repaired and what is the estimated cost? I think I paid about $100 for it.

Here's a photo of the brush

Attachments

• BadgerBrush.jpg
    BadgerBrush.jpg
    169.2 KB · Views: 41
I contacted Rudy Vey for his suggested solution. Thankfully, I have an extra medium-quality brush to use in the meantime.

FarmerTan

"Self appointed king of Arkoland"
Tis but a flesh wound.
I have ZERO experience, so I'm asking what may be a really stupid question, but is the knot in there repairable? I mean, like putting some glue on it and pushing it down? Apologies if that is a really dumb idea.

I have ZERO experience, so I'm asking what may be a really stupid question, but is the knot in there repairable? I mean, like putting some glue on it and pushing it down? Apologies if that is a really dumb idea.

Not a dumb question. I was quoting a dumb movie though. It's from a monti python movie I half watched over 25 years ago. And I may have misquoted.
Anyway. It's probably possible. But @TinyTim should definitely wait to see what Rudy says.

Been seeing breaks like this relatively frequently from multiple makers in the past couple years. Did everyone change the glue they use or something? Don't think I'd ever seen a knot split like this five years ago.