What's new

Brush comparison Whipped Dog Silvertip vs. High Mountain

First of all I would like to apologise for the long delay. A couple of you contacted me last year for this comparison, and it took much longer than anticipated. I am sorry, but sometimes life has other plans...

I also want to point out, that I am not an expert when it comes to brushes – especially badgers. Apart from these two brushes, I only had an Edwin Jagger Medium in best badger. However I have been wet shaving now for some years and I have used various boars and a horse brush. I can only point out my personal observations, but please bear in mind that YMMV.

$WD24Silver_HMFrontS.JPG
Whipped Dog Silvertip (left) and High Mountain (right)

Both brushes have exactly the same Dimensions, but the knot is quiet different, as you can see in the pictures:

Knot: Diameter: 24mm, Loft: 48mm
Silvertip: Hybrid (more bulb)
High Mountain: Bulb
Handle: Acyrlic, Base diameter: 35mm, Height: 50mm
Cost: ~35$ from Larry at http://www.whippeddog.com/

$WD24Silver_HMAngleS.jpg

As I shave every 2nd day, I need four passes and I also like to lather up at the end, while I clean my gear, so for me a brush has to hold at least 5 passes of lather. I only face lather, and my rotation rotaion include Mike's, Stirling, Otoko Organic and the Beach (both in summer) and Haslinger Schafmilch in winter.

Face Feeling:
The Silvertip (ST) is definitely a wonderfully soft brush – I cannot detect any scritch and it feels wonderfully luxurious on the face. The High Mountain (HM) on the other hand has a lot of scrub – almost as much as a boar brush, without any need of using pressure. This will certainly appeal to boar lovers, who want to try a badger, while the ST appeals to gentlemen who are looking for a luxurious face feel. Having said that, the ST definitely also provides some (light) exfoliation.