What's new

Brush cleaning?

Hi all,

I have this Omega boar brush that I love, but it's starting to smell a little funny and I'm not sure what to do. It's not the new brush stink - I've been using this brush a couple times a week for the past 2 years. I wash my brushes thoroughly after each use, dry them fairly well on a towel, and then hang them to dry. I cycle uses between an Edwin Jagger super badger and the Omega boar, so they each get at least 2 days of drying in between uses. (I have a few other brushes, but those two are my work horses).

On top of all that, every few months I'll give them a quick clean. A little soak/wash in mild dish detergent, and then a shampoo and conditioner. My badger brush smells great - just like a faint hint of all the soaps I love. But the Omega has started to smell... off. Musty, or something. It's weird.

I was just wondering if any of you fine folks may know what I'm talking about, or at least have a suggestion or two for ways to rid my beloved brush of its funk.

Interesting. Are you sure you're completely washing out all lather after each shave? And the brush is being hung to dry out on the counter and not in a cabinet or anything?

Dish soap usually does a good job of cleaning up a brush, but you can also try a brief soak in vinegar water.

Another technique is to thoroughly lather it up with your shave soap of choice or shampoo (something nice and fragrant) and let it sit for 12-24 hours before a thorough rinse and dry.

If none of that does it, I'd consider oxiclean as the tactical nuke but with some risk of damaging the hairs.

A soak in a dilute vinegar solution should help. I have a body brush that can get smelly at the base/knot with certain soap residues left behind, particularly one with neem oil in it.