What's new

Black Arkansas stones

I am confused about the different grades of black Arkansas: Black, surgical black, blue black, translucent black?? For the most part today seems like all or Most of the blacks have a grey hue to them. I read that the Ink jet black stones are the denser (maybe finer too) and rarer novaculite stones.

Mike

I doubt anyone could tell the difference in an edge done on any of them. I’m fairly certain I can’t. As long as the come from a reputable dealer (mine) you should be good to go. Dans, Preyda, Norton. Maybe others I’m not aware of.

Last edited:

Ravenonrock

I shaved the pig
This is my first, a Dan‘s hard black Ark, labelled as ultra fine by the retailer. Looks black to me. I’m figuring things out and getting some ok edges. First natural finisher, so Im just learning as I go, but really enjoying the stone so far. Good things to come I believe.
53CB6815-844B-4404-931E-88FEF2C7242C.jpeg

Buyer beware, but a lot of stones sold as black Arkansas online are not even novaculite.

That’s one of the reasons I prefer translucent. At least you can tell visually what you are buying.
I heard that as well.... They're called dunston stones or something like that!?

Legion

Staff member
I heard that as well.... They're called dunston stones or something like that!?
Yeah. They are black, and from Arkansas, so they are technically not misrepresenting, but clearly it is an attempt to confuse people and sell a less expensive stone to the unsuspecting.

Dan's stones have proven to be really good stuff. However, the Bethesda Black and Dota Creek rocks(shown here with an Arkansas Grey....all by Jonathon Coe) are no slouches. I have no idea what a Dunston stone is?🤷‍♂️
IMG_5913.jpeg