What's new

Bevel Setting Troubles

So I am still learning the art of honing and the main issue seems to be setting the bevel.

I've honed couples razors all the way up to my Black Ark and they're not cutting as close as I'd like. I am assuming that it's a bevel issue because working through the midrange/polishing level did not improve the edge, in fact made it worse.

I have three main troublesome razors that I want to hone. A Black Jack Soligen, Geneva Cutlery, and a Old Keen Kutter Wedge.

I've been mainly using the Shapton Pro 1.5k to set the bevel on all my razors and it's done well with some but not these three. The issue is when I am finished with the 1.5k, the edge is still not sharp enough. It'll cut through arm hair, tree-top, but there is a bit of hesitation in the process. With some other razors like GDs, another Geneva, and my Richware straight, I know I set the bevel because they cut hair by just looking at it.

I'm trying to narrow down the issue here. It could be that the 1.5k is not aggressive enough to get the thin edge width. I spend an hour on bevel setting and got to the same result. I reset the bevel 3+ times and had the same result. I've also used my Atoma 600 to see if I could thin out the bevel. I had some success but by the end, the result is the same.. not as sharp as I'd like.

I have a Shapton 1K on the way to see if it'll make any difference. So far, I've been able to set the bevel on most of my Gold Dollars so I'm thinking the type of steel might also play into the equation here. Trying to troubleshoot my way through these vintages and ultimately, I need to set the bevel on these straights.

One thing, the Black Jack and the Geneva do have a slight warp to them but I should be able to work through it. It's not a severe warp but a noticeable one.