What's new

Bevel set - marker remains on edge near tip and heel

Bevel setting a fresh Titan on SP1.5k, I'm having some trouble getting the tip and heel.

IMG_0089.jpg

I'm torqueing the edge into the stone and using some rolling x, but the heel is especially hard to get to and erase the marker.

I think this razor came with a compound bevel from the factory. So the flat plane formed on the stone is not reaching the apex.

Should I switch to SG500 and grind until the marker is gone (compound bevel is removed)?

Adding tape could help, but I'm not too keen on that option.

I’m fairly new to this. Take with a grain of salt.

Have you tried to see if the blade is flat? Maybe you don’t need a rolling stroke at all.

Observe how long the heel and toe are being honed on your strike. I suspect you may need to delay the rolling a tad and try to end the rolling earlier in the stroke.

Have the stones been lapped flat and proven flat?
Lotta wear on the spine at the toe, almost none by the tang.
Looks like it could be....

Grind might be off
Incorrectly applied pressure/torguee
Pressing on spine near toe with off hand maybe.
Way too much torque
A mix of some or all of the abovre.

For a rolling stroke to work, the edge must make contact throughout the roll.
When you are not making contact, you have to see that and fix it....continuing to roll is just going to exacerbate the situation.
Torque has to be applied judiciously. Too much force in the torque and the blade can twist and what I see on the spine can happen.

Have the stones been lapped flat and proven flat?
I do flatten regularly. After reading this, I made a pencil grid and removed the markings in under 5 seconds of diamond plate lapping under running water. I then put the stone against the kitchen granite and was not able to insert receipt paper any where with any ease. What other proof should I look for?

Lotta wear on the spine at the toe, almost none by the tang.